On 1st July 2008 Rotary District 3131 was formed by bifurcation of Rotary District 3130. Rotary District 3131 comprises of the Rotary clubs in the revenue districts of Pune and Raigad in the state of Maharashtra, India. The Rotary District 3130 itself had been carved out of Rotary District 313 in Rotary year 1981-82

The first club in the district, Rotary Club of Poona was chartered on 10th June 1936, sponsored by Rotary Club of Bombay. This is the oldest club in the district. It took 15 years past independence to add a club in these revenue districts. RC Panvel became the first club in Raidgad district (then Kolaba district) which was sponsored by RC Kalyan and charted on 16th June 1960. Other clubs formed in this decade were Poona North (7th Oct '60), Khopoli (25th June '60) and Poona West (21st June '69). In the decade of 70's Rotary was introduced in agriculturally dominated areas like Narayngaon (29th March '71) and Baramati (26th June '74) In the decade of 80's more than 16 clubs now in RD 3131 were formed and the pace accelerated in 90's by formation of 23 clubs followed by 31 clubs which have been charted so far in the first decade of the new millennium. Today there are 100 clubs in the district with more than 3500 Rotarians. The Rotary eClub of Pune is the 100th Club in the Rotary District 3131.

The current District Governor of RID 3131 is Rtn Dr. Deepak Shikarpur.